Wednesday, November 08, 2017

Spiritualized - Royal Albert Hall October 10 1997

20 year old Spiritualized mug bought at the legendary Royal Albert Hall October 10 1997 show which became the subsequent live album released a year later.
Certainly one of the best gigs I've experienced and there's been one or two!

Friday, October 13, 2017

David Crosby - Sky Trails (2017)

I don't think David Crosby gets the recognition he deserves. Having just released 'Sky Trails', the third of three albums in almost only as many years along with 'Croz' in 2014 and last year's 'Lighthouse'.

All three beautiful, delicate yet majestic cosmic journeys through inner and outer space. In fact truly sublime in the Kantian sense...

Jazz-inflected, rock oriented, meticulously recorded, consummate yet always original, engaging and painstakingly produced.
All three as good as anything he has produced hitherto... No mean feat for a man of his years.

Bonanza & Son on ResonanceFM.

Saturday, July 01, 2017

'Reflections - Mojave Desert’ by Floating Points

Certainly one of the best albums we've heard this year...

'Reflections - Mojave Desert’ by Floating Points
is many things; a short film, an LP soundtrack, a dvd, a beautiful art booklet and most definitely a sonic exploration of the environment under an endless desert sky... Dramatic, beautiful, sublime.
The album, accompanying DVD and full colour booklet was released yesterday on Pluto Records.

Monday, June 26, 2017

Kraftwerk at The Royal Albert Hall 21 June 2017

New water bottle for the bike and souvenir from last week's Kraftwerk show at The Royal Albert Hall.

Still floating the cloud and riding the wave - I've seen them a number of times now and there's no doubt in my mind they are the best live act to walk the planet...

I almost wept they were so good - Primal and yet futuristic... Once predictive but now prescriptive...

It occurred to me during this show that they pre-empted so many things we now see as commonplace and take for granted such as 'Internet Cafes', 'Online Dating' and cycling/Tour De France as mainstream rather than a minority interest... Always a truly mind-blowing experience. It's scary how good they are like a sudden realisation you've become part of some mind-control cult.

Wednesday, June 07, 2017

Bob Dylan 2016 Nobel Lecture in Literature

Bob Dylan's recent response to his Nobel Literature Prize is such a holy testament to the genius of the man...

His vast, erudite knowledge and intellect is matched equally by his enduring enthusiasm and perfectly illustrates why he is such an engaging artist... In fact there is absolutely no doubt in my mind he is thee single, most important artist to have walked the earth (and on water) EVER.

On a visceral level Dylan's spoken voice is utterly beguiling and mesmerising... And especially lovely to listen to late at night with subdued lighting and a beverage of your choice.

This spoken parable, this earthy epistle also serves as a smarting slap in the face for all those negative naysayers who chose to criticise him for not acknowledging the award on their time frame rather than his - They are not worthy - Patience is very much a virtue and here the ultimate lesson because eventually we receive a true gift, a pearl of great price and a fitting work of art in itself from the master painter of yet another masterpiece.

Bonanza & Son on Resonance 104.4fm

Monday, June 05, 2017

Bonanza & Son's review of Roger Waters new album...

Roger Waters - 'Is This The Life We Really Want'

Finger perfectly placed on the pulse of the political and emotional landscape - A record of and for our times ...
A truly compelling series of observations, positive and negative valence vignettes and contemporary critique - A stark warning of portentous events if humanity doesn't take on the tyrants who seem to beckon and relish its impending destruction.

Set against a backdrop of and intertwined with sumptuous, viscous layers of sound and meaning, buzzers and bells, crackling, fizzing and popping like only an old, vintage valve amp can - At the same time both beautiful and spooky, menacing and sexy; perhaps even the perfect evocation of the Kantian sublime... Love it - addicted to it! Playing it on repeat...
Bonanza & Son on Resonance 104.4fm.

Tuesday, May 02, 2017

Bob Dylan & His Band - London Palladium 30th April 2017 - Setlist

Bob Dylan & His Band
London Palladium

30th April 2017

1) Things Have Changed... (Modern Times - 2006)
2) To Ramona... (Another Side Of Bob Dylan - 1964)
3) Highway 61 Revisited... (Highway 61 Revisited - 1965)
4) Beyond Here Lies Nothin'... (Together Through Life - 2009)
5) I Could Have Told You... (Triplicate - 2017)
6) Pay in Blood... (Tempest - 2012)
7) Melancholy Mood... (Fallen Angels 2016)
8) Duquesne Whistle... (Tempest - 2012)
9) Stormy Weather... (Triplicate - 2017)
10) Tangled Up In Blue... (Blood On The Tracks - 1975)
11) Early Roman Kings... (Tempest - 2012)
12) Spirit on the Water... (Modern Times - 2006)
13) Love Sick... (Time Out Of Mind - 1997)
14) All Or Nothing At All... (Fallen Angels - 2016)
15) Desolation Row... (Highway 61 Revisited - 1965)
16) Soon After Midnight... (Tempest - 2012)
17) That Old Black Magic... (Fallen Angels 2016)
18) Long and Wasted Years... (Tempest - 2012)
19) Autumn Leaves... (Shadows in the Night - 2015)
20) Blowin' In The Wind... (The Freewheelin' Bob Dylan - 1963)
21) Ballad Of A Thin Man... (Highway 61 Revisited - 1965)

Full audio for Bob Dylan & His Band - London Palladium 30th April 2017...